EELS: Electro-shock Blues Show
iTunes US
iTunes UK

E Works and DreamWorks join hands to bring you another EELS live CD! This, the second E Works release, was actually recorded before OH WHAT A BEAUTIFUL MORNING, the live CD recorded during the EELS Orchestra's 2000 tour. ELECTRO-SHOCK BLUES SHOW was recorded in 1998 and features an hour's worth of the EELS live, when ELECTRO-SHOCK BLUES had just come into the world. 15 tracks, wrapped-up in a beautiful digipak package complete with Electro-shock Blues comic story booklet!

One night in December of 1998, in the midst of a tour as support act for the band Pulp, the EELS (E, Butch & Adam) found themselves fighting for their lives on the stage of some English ice rink or convention hall. It's unknown what town they are actually playing in on this recording (tracks 1-10), since the tape box has been labeled with the names of three towns, and no one in the band even remembers the 1900s, (they say if you remember the 1900s then you weren't really there).

But no matter. It rocks all the same. Step into this rock and/or roll time machine and be there for the entire set. Check out an early version of 'Souljacker Part I,' when Sally was a young Mary, some 3 years before the release of the 'Souljacker' album. Marvel at Butch taking a stab at the lead vocal for 'Efil's God.' Laugh as members of the audience berate and belittle our heroes. At least that guy screaming "Novocaine!!!!" isn't shouting "Judas!"

A member of the audience plays sleigh bells on "Everything's Gonna Be Cool This Christmas," and there's at least one version of 'My Beloved Monster' that's sure to leave you "satisfied." Rounding out this essential addition to your EELS library are 5 bonus tracks, also recorded in 1998, at some of the world's finest venues, from Stockholm to Indianapolis.

1. Cancer for the Cure
2. Fingertips part III
3. Going to Your Funeral part I
4. Efil's God
5. Souljacker part I
6. My Beloved Monster PREVIEW! (96K MP3 | 160K MP3)
7. Novocaine for the Soul
8. Not Ready Yet
9. Last Stop: This Town
10. Everything's Gonna be Cool this Christmas

Bonus Tracks:
11. Flower
12. Dead of Winter
13. Electro-Shock Blues
14. The Medication is Wearing Off
15. Climbing to the Moon